Typographic Character Forms 6


Today I would like to introduce you to Clarendon. This is a typeface that dates back to the mid 19th century. It has seen quite a bit in the way of world history. Clarendon was originally designed in England in 1845. Over time it became a popular typeface in America where it was widely used, notably in the old west on wanted posters and signage. During the early 1900’s it was commonly used in Europe by the German Empire for World War 1 proclamations and propaganda pieces. Later, during the mid 20th century it received a redesign and this is the Clarendon we often see today. Until recently, The National Park Service in the United States used the typeface for it’s traffic and road signs. Currently I have noticed, and taken some delight, in it’s use in promotional pieces for Starbuck’s Coffee as well as for Ruby Tuesday’s recent brand identity makeover during the last few years. Personally, I have been using Clarendon for the past couple years on informative pieces and announcements for my family’s annual reunion.

typographic character forms 6

Today I have again chosen three characters to interact with one another. The upper case R, the numeral 3 and the ampersand (&). I have chosen to blend the characters together leaving them separated just enough for you to get an idea of there individuality. I believe that the three characters demonstrate some of the common traits of this slab-serif (thick serif) typeface. In this piece they blend nicely as if they are holding hands while crossing the street. A 30 degree rotation is applied to the group to add visual interest.

I also decided to add some color this go around. The original constraints of the assignment dictate not to use color, but I figured grayscale may be getting a bit boring (Colleen also dropped me a hint), so I will attempt to add color to future designs. Today’s color inspiration is derived from the spring color of the American Redbud tree which is blooming at this time. The small clustered blossoms tend to be fuchsia in color and are supported by the backdrop of medium gray bark on the tree’s trunk and branches. Just so you know, I will often use nature as a color inspiration as I tend to be influenced by nature and the changing seasons, particularly as it pertains to trees and horticulture.

Well, that’s it for today. See you all tomorrow!
Sean

2 thoughts on “Typographic Character Forms 6

  1. Hiya,

    I just wanted to say that you have a very neat thing going on here with the circadian creative. I started back at the very first post in March and read my way to today’s post. This is very interesting and very educational. I like it!
    Good luck in the next year. I hope you accomplish what you’ve have set out to do with your project.

Leave a Reply

