Happy Birthday Colleen


Today is Colleen’s birthday so this post is dedicated to her. I want to wish her a very happy birthday with all of my love. Colleen has been very supportive of me over the years. In fact, in many ways, she is the major reason that I am taking on this daily design challenge. When we first started dating I told her that she made me want to be a better person. I know that is similar to a movie line, but truer words have never been spoken by me. Colleen really does inspire me to be a better person. That’s why I am doing this design thing every day, to be a better designer. To become better in my chosen profession.

happy birthday Colleen

Happy Birthday Colleen!

Colleen’s design is created around an old Royal brand typewriter. One of the most solid and durable writing tools ever created. Writing is Colleen’s chosen profession. And I hope that I have inspired her to get back on that path, whether it be professional or personal. Her blog, by the way, is enjoyed by many. In this design the image of the typewriter is the dominant image with the happy birthday message rendered in circular shapes, made to resemble the keys of a Royal, or other typewriter of that era. Colleen’s name is rendered below in a typewriter typeface to reinforce the theme. I chose orange as the background color because it is Colleen’s favorite.

The choice of this typewriter as the main image comes from the obvious reasons mentioned above. But there is more. I mentioned the Royal being the most solid and durable of all writing tools. These machines were created during a time when quality and durability mattered both to the companies that made products as well as to the people who relied on those products. These qualities, among others, are key elements of Colleen’s personality. She has a strong moral foundation. Everything that Colleen produces in her writing, and her life in general, reflects that foundation of quality and attention to detail.

I had also considered an antique camera for Colleen’s image. Colleen is an avid and talented photographer. Ultimately I chose to stick with just the typewriter, mainly for simplicity of design, but either the camera or the typewriter, or both would have been appropriate. I just want you all to know that Colleen is a powerhouse when she combines both of these talents in her work. She is able to not only take words and paint a vivid and delightful picture with them, she is also able to capture engaging and beautiful images through a camera lens and combine them to tell a story without words.

So that’s it. Your daily design! I hope you all enjoy it. And Colleen, I hope you have a wonderful birthday. Thank you for all your wonderful stories and for being such an inspiration to me. I love you.

See you all tomorrow!
Sean

Leave a Reply

