Book Cover Design Project #9 – The Grass Is Always Greener…


“The grass is always greener on the other side” – This expression was submitted in response to the “be careful what you wish for” post from a few days ago. They go hand in hand as both phrases warn of the potential ills of gaining what we do not have. The grass is always greener implies specific wants of someone in our proximity. I believe the phrase may have originated with the rise of suburbs during the mid 20th century (I’m just guessing here). I believe it refers to one  person admiring what their neighbor might have and feeling that they have less by comparison. The car in the driveway, the house and perhaps even a lovely, well manicured lawn might seem better on the other side of our fence but in reality they is probably little difference. The important thing to remember is that often people might appear to have everything but that does not necessarily mean they have happiness. This conjures additional phrases such as “don’t judge a book by it’s cover” and “money can’t buy happiness.”

book cover design project 9 - the grass is always greener

Going along with my suburban interpretation, I used simple shapes that resemble blades of grass to illicit the feeling of a lawn on the greener side of the composition. On the other side I used neutral brown and tan to imply that things might not be so green there. The fluctuations in color I feel are fairly obvious when garnering meaning. I used the font Cooper to typeset the message. The decision to use Cooper was random. I like the font but rarely find a situation where I feel it conveys what I want in a design. Here I think it works. Not sure why. That’s it. Hope you like it.

Reminders: I am always accepting submissions for words or phrases. If you would like to see me design something around yours, please submit something in the comments area below. Also, If you are on Facebook please add Circadian Creative’s Facebook page to your “liked” pages. You can leave comments there too. If you log into Facebook and do a search on Circadian Creative it will come up at the top of the list. I update the page daily after each post here and I have also archived the daily designs by month in the photo section.

See you all tomorrow.
Sean

One thought on “Book Cover Design Project #9 – The Grass Is Always Greener…

Leave a Reply

