Book Cover Design Project #16 – Corporate Culture.


“Corporate Culture” –  Is a concept that is studied in a fair amount of detail in the business management world. You would think with all the studies and data regarding corporate culture, organizational culture and organizational behavior there would be few problems in organizations between the business and the people. But we often discover there is usually something that could be done better in that realm.

book cover design project #16 - corporate culture

Today’s design takes us into the cube farm. A typical scene in many very large companies, the cube farm is also the negative stereotype of corporate coldness and lack of personal regard. I used a photo of office cubicles from a vendor website and removed the color information in Photoshop to make it grayscale. Then I adjusted the contrast, blowing out the lightest areas. I was originally going for a photocopied look, but as you can see I decided to go dark. To do this I inverted the image to create a negative image. It gives a bit of a sinister feeling as if the inside of the cubicles are glowing. I set the words Corporate Culture in Helvetica Neue Light. Helvetica is my favorite font, but it is also a plain, sterile type face and is often effective in conveying a cold technical feeling. Here I think it does the job quite well.

Oh, check the comment area for yesterday’s post, Birds Of A Feather to see my after thoughts on that design.

Reminders: I am always accepting submissions for words or phrases. If you would like to see me design something around yours, submit it in the comments area below. Also, If you are on Facebook please add Circadian Creative’s Facebook page to your “liked” pages. If you log into Facebook and do a search on Circadian Creative it will come up at the top of the list. I update the page daily after each post here and I have also archived the daily designs by month in the photo section.

See you all tomorrow.
Sean

3 thoughts on “Book Cover Design Project #16 – Corporate Culture.

  1. I like this done in black and white. I think it portrays the stereotypical image of corporate culture perfectly. What would this book be about? Maybe murder inside a corporation? Or two big companies in dispute? Embezzlement? The possibilities are endless.

  2. I was actually thinking about a text book on organizational behavior, or a case study done from the perspective of a “cubicle” level employee. I bet all books on this topic have been written from a consultant or management perspective.

  3. This could have been even better if you could have included some human elements into it. Something Hopper-esque perhaps. One man standing up inside the cubes perhaps. An image like that could be even more powerful if you could get more people into it and have them all facing away from the man standing and/or the camera.

    Crystal

Leave a Reply

