Book Cover Design Project #24 – The Straw That Broke The Camel’s Back.


“The Straw That Broke The Camel’s Back” – I am a bit rushed today so I made quick work of today’s design as well as the research on the phrase. This phrase appears to originate from an old Arabic expression. Makes sense since it deals with camels and many camels are from the middle east. The camel is a beast of burden like the horse is here in the west. Heavy loads are often carried by camels including bails of straw. The modern day phrase is used to describe the last in a series of unacceptable or undesirable occurrences. This is also the origin of “the last straw” or “the final straw”.

book cover design project 24 - the straw that broke the camels back

As I mentioned I felt a bit rushed today so I created this layout very quickly. That’s not to say that I don’t like it, I do. I guess I didn’t experiment much with color or composition options. The image is processed from a photograph that I found of a camel skull in the desert. I reduced the image to five or six colors to give it the appearance of an illustration. I used a roughened display type called Cracked to set the title and used variations in point size and baseline shift to add a little visual interest. Rotating the title parallel to the horizon line of the image helps add further to the visual interest. And that’s about it for this one. As always, I hope you like it.

Reminders: I am always accepting submissions for words or phrases. If you would like to see me design something around yours, submit it in the comments area below. Also, If you are on Facebook please add Circadian Creative’s Facebook page to your “liked” pages. If you log into Facebook and do a search on Circadian Creative it will come up at the top of the list. I update the page daily after each post here and I have also archived the daily designs by month in the photo section.

See you all tomorrow.
Sean