Book Cover Design Project #25 – The Call Of The Open Road.


“The Call Of The Open Road” – I would love to have time to research this phrase, but I am in the middle of preparing for a road trip this morning. I pulled this composition out of my “trunk” so to speak in about 20 minutes. So, if you think it looks like crap then that’s my excuse. And if you think it’s brilliant, well, then that’s just how I roll!

Actually, the image in the layout is how I roll – Mustang convertible baby! Only I am driving the previous body style in black and today I will have my traveling companion, the lovely Colleen at my side! And, it’s going to be rather hot so I think having the top up with air conditioning will be the way we roll, at least until we get into the mountains and then we’ll reassess.

book cover design project 25 - the call of the open road

I used a stock Ford photo and over saturated the colors. I then posterized it to reduce it to about four or five colors. For typography I almost chose Clarendon which I think might have been used for the very first 1964 Mustang logo. But I then chose Bauhaus at the last minute. I call it that 70’s font and when I think of the 70’s I often think of summer for some reason. Anyway, That’s it for now, that open road is calling so I need to answer. Tomorrow I will be posting from Wild, Wonderful, West Virginia!

Reminders: I am always accepting submissions for words or phrases. If you would like to see me design something around yours, submit it in the comments area below. Also, If you are on Facebook please add Circadian Creative’s Facebook page to your “liked” pages. If you log into Facebook and do a search on Circadian Creative it will come up at the top of the list. I update the page daily after each post here and I have also archived the daily designs by month in the photo section.

See you all tomorrow.
Sean

2 thoughts on “Book Cover Design Project #25 – The Call Of The Open Road.

  1. GREAT ONE! Can’t wait to get out on the road with you. Love how you did the colors… it makes me able to feel the miles going by as the wind blows in my hair. I think you made the right font choice too. It just all works together. Let’s roll.

Leave a Reply

