Creation #214. Wabi-sabi 02.


I am sorry to say that I did not take a photo today, but I have a huge library of material from previous outings over the years. I promise to try to hold true to my goal of taking a photo each day for this series, but I might need to dip into the archives from time to time so don’t be too hard on me.

It was kind of fun going back in time through my photo library looking for wabi-sabi. This photo was taken in 2005 on a visit to the Arizona high desert. The image depicts the remains of a desert sage. Nothing lasts forever especially in this harsh arid environment. Although life is now gone the sun bleaches the woody skeleton of the shrub, preserving it for some time leaving this ghost of the desert as a reminder of the past.

creation 214 wabi-sabi 02Please Follow Circadian Creative on Facebook and Twitter!

2 thoughts on “Creation #214. Wabi-sabi 02.

  1. One day in the past maybe this was a flowering bush that obviously was overcome by the harsh conditions you mentioned. I can imagine its whole life cycle from this one still shot.

  2. I’m glad you took this picture in the past. At first it seems a sad thing,but it’s part of what life is. I’ll bet it was beautiful before reaching this stage. It’s thought provoking about the life process, I think.

Leave a Reply

