Book Cover Design Project #10 – Don’t Put All Your Eggs In One Basket


Don’t put all your eggs in one basket – This is another “fan” submission from the Facebook page. This expression is long lived and dates back to the 1600’s. The phrase implies that one should not focus all his or her attention, or efforts, toward one goal in the event that the goal can’t be achieved. A more current interpretation is not to isolate one’s assets in one place. This is easily applied to the financial world where people are encouraged to keep there money safe in multiple types of investments (diversification). Being a computer guy I often think of this phrase when backing up my data to a second hard drive. A while ago I learned the tough lesson to not keeping all my digital eggs in one basket.

book cover design project 10 - don't put all your eggs in one basket

I was feeling cartoonish when conjuring up this design. Sort of Looney Toons if you will. My first idea was to have an Anvil falling from the sky toward a basket of eggs. I found a really nice image of a bowling ball and chose to go with that at the last minute. I used a font called Modern 20 to set the message. It is a somewhat informal font and I thought it complimented the cartoon-esque nature of the design. The font set in red and rotation of the words sort of puts a Dr. Seuss vibe on the composition as well. That’s all for today. Hope you enjoy.

Reminders: I am always accepting submissions for words or phrases. If you would like to see me design something around yours submit it in the comments area below. Also, If you are on Facebook please add Circadian Creative’s Facebook page to your “liked” pages. If you log into Facebook and do a search on Circadian Creative it will come up at the top of the list. I update the page daily after each post here and I have also archived the daily designs by month in the photo section.

See you all tomorrow.
Sean

2 thoughts on “Book Cover Design Project #10 – Don’t Put All Your Eggs In One Basket

  1. I have enjoyed all the book cover designs, but I think this is my favorite so far. I thought of a road runner cartoon even before I read your description!

    I would like to see your interpretation of ” it’s always darkest before the dawn” which I have been thinking about a lot lately.
    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

