Book Cover Design Project #26 – A Family Affair


“A Family Affair” – Today I’m going to a Family reunion. So I let the theme of my day inspire the theme of my design submission.

I used the image of a tree as it is often utilized in the symbolism of a family in terms of signifying multiple generations and heritage. I used a soft light green color to contrast against the dark barren tree image. The empty branches of the tree represent the family structure and lineage, the greens of the background signifies the lives surrounding that structure, this includes the memories of those who have gone before.

book cover design project 26 - a family affair

I chose Adobe Jenson medium as the typeface for the title. I like it’s traditional characteristics. It seems to borrow a bit from Garamond but with just enough of a distinguishing edge. I really like some of it’s italic features, which are not present in this design.

Reminders: I am always accepting submissions for words or phrases. If you would like to see me design something around yours, submit it in the comments area below. Also, If you are on Facebook please add Circadian Creative’s Facebook page to your “liked” pages. If you log into Facebook and do a search on Circadian Creative it will come up at the top of the list. I update the page daily after each post here and I have also archived the daily designs by month in the photo section.

See you all tomorrow.
Sean

2 thoughts on “Book Cover Design Project #26 – A Family Affair

  1. simple and sweet maybe a reverse silhouette in the trunk of a person or even the shaodowed smoking guys that people put on their porches attached to it– i know it was a busy stretch for you but this one seems to easy for you….

Leave a Reply

