Book Cover Design Project #14 – Blood From A Stone.


“You can’t get blood from a stone” – An expression used to describe an impossible situation. It implies you can not get something that is not there. For example, you can’t get the truth from a sales person or a politician. I have always liked this phrase and I don’t know exactly why.

In this cover design and illustration I depict that there are ways to get blood from a stone. This cover might be good for a story about a murder. I know I am bringing up that topic periodically but please do not read into it:) I am a big fan of all the CSI shows and Criminal Minds. When I think of a good fiction I think of mysteries that involve uncovering a murder and bringing the suspect to justice. The cover design here might be good for a story where the only evidence is a stone that was used as the murder weapon. You would think that would be the key piece of evidence to solve the crime but perhaps that’s all they get to solve the crime. No finger prints, no motive, nothing else.

book cover design project 14 - blood from a stone

Color and Illustration: I deliberately used shades of gray for the entire composition (except the blood) to give a monochrome (black and white) appearance. This gives a basic feeling to the viewer that something is missing. The splash of red is the only color which adds drama to the composition. The appearance of the light gray stone on the dark background provides an indication that a dim light is being shined upon the stone.

Typography: I simply love helvetica. Here I use Helvetica Neue Extended. It is basic, modern and easy to read. I feel that it compliments the composition rather than hog attention. In the previous few designs I have chosen display type that draws attention to itself. Here the overall minimal feeling of the design is supported by the choice of typography rather than created by it. The visual impact of this design comes mainly from the color red. Without it you would be looking at a stone. Although that might seem to be mildly interesting subject, the indication of blood on the stone really startles one’s attention and creates a realization that what you are looking at is the aftermath of something serious.

Reminders: I am always accepting submissions for words or phrases. If you would like to see me design something around yours, submit it in the comments area below. Also, If you are on Facebook please add Circadian Creative’s Facebook page to your “liked” pages. If you log into Facebook and do a search on Circadian Creative it will come up at the top of the list. I update the page daily after each post here and I have also archived the daily designs by month in the photo section.

See you all tomorrow.
Sean

2 thoughts on “Book Cover Design Project #14 – Blood From A Stone.

  1. I love the minimal feeling – makes a huge impact. I also like the blood drips, which for some reason make it seem something is happening, much like the shows we love to watch. Maybe someone could write a murder mystery with this as the cover? Hmmmm?

  2. Pingback: 2010/2011 Circadian Creative – My Top 10 « Circadian Creative | Design Adventures, Creative Projects and Inspirations

Leave a Reply

